Pastoral Unit

The sixty parishes of the diocese are grouped into nine Pastoral Areas. The Pastoral Areas provide an opportunity for parishes to work together in such a way that individual parishes are supported in their efforts to ensure that they will continue to exist as vibrant communities of faith into the future. 

Our Parish belongs to Pobal Nessáin Pastoral Area which has six parishes:

  1. Patrickswell/Ballybrown
  2. Mungret/Crecora/Raheen
  3. St. Paul’s
  4. Our Lady of Lourdes
  5. St. Joseph’s
  6. St. Saviour’s. 

Pastoral Area Team:

In each Pastoral Area, there is a Pastoral Area Team which includes laity and clergy. Each parish in our Pastoral Area has two representatives on the team. Margaret O'Connor (Raheen) represent our parish.

This team is responsible for discerning and co-ordinating the gifts and strengths of the community in the service of communion and mission; it oversees pastoral activities and initiatives that take place on a Pastoral Area basis. This requires a strong ethos and strong support among the parishes of the area for active Parish Pastoral Councils, encouraging the provision of resources for adult religious education, formation of lay ministers etc, in conjunction with the Diocesan Pastoral Centre but also ensuring that the Area’s own resources in these areas are identified and encouraged and tapped.  

Our Pastoral Area Team has organised meetings among the pastoral groups that are active in the parishes – liturgy groups, baptismal groups, prayer groups, bereavement groups etc. Pobal Nessáin held a series of lectures to mark the 50th anniversary of the Vatican Council and a Pilgrim Walk to celebrate the Year of Faith.